Learning how to read … In grad school

When I first arrived in grad school, I asked so many students: How should I read? What do I pay attention to? Am I spending enough time? Too much time? I’m drowning!

My advisor said to imagine floating in an ocean and then grab onto whatever pieces are floating past, close enough to grab. I felt more like I was tangled in vines – all connected somehow, all important, but all looked about the same.

Based on What is the learning goal anyway? I’m going to brainstorm potential learning goals of grad school reading:

  • Learn math ed theories
  • Learn math ed world values
  • Learn research methodologies
  • Learn the article itself for later use in research and arguments
  • Get to know the authors, aka, movers and shakers in the math ed world
  • Get to know the “cocktail party” conversation
  • Learn how to write
  • Learn about mathematics teaching and learning
  • Learn about students’ and teachers’ struggles and thinking

I’m sure there are many more. When I started reading for comps, I created a framework (based on other frameworks that had come up in different classes):

  • Abstract:
  • Stable URL:
  • Keywords: 
  • Type of article:
  • Theoretical Framing: 
  • Conceptual / Analytical Framing:
  • Research/paper purpose / research questions: 
  • Key terms / ideas / concepts:
  • Quotes from Text:
  • My Questions:
  • My Elevator Version / Summary:
  • Outline:

Another similar framing came from CEP956 (Mind, Media, and Society). It could be useful because the structure helped me look at the paper as more of an argument, which might have helped me learn better how to write.

  • Citation
  • Need
  • Purpose
  • Research Question
  • Theoretical Framework
  • Type of study and study details (i.e., sample, method)
  • Results
  • Conclusions
  • Limitations
  • Implications
Leave a Reply

